Haiti

Haiti: education and training to fight against child malnutrition in contexts of recurrent crises

Since 2010, the Nutridev programme has been working in rural areas in the commune of Saint Louis du Sud (South Department) and more recently in the commune of Gros-Morne (Artibonite Department), to fight against child malnutrition in Haiti, as part of larger local development projects (access to drinking water, health-nutrition, agriculture) and food and nutritional security.

The context: recurrent crises that feed the vicious circle of malnutrition

Before the 2010 earthquake, one quarter of Haitian children under the age of 2 suffered from  stunting. In 2012, the Artibonite department had the highest rate of stunting with 23% of children affected. The major causes are inappropriate feeding practices (duration of exclusive breastfeeding too short, insufficient nutritional quality of complementary foods) and illnesses especially diarrhoeal illnesses and cholera.

“The Haitian context of recurrent crises makes education and training crucial to improve the resilience of inhabitants over the long term”, explains Laure Biesmans of GRET in Haiti.

Nutridev’s actions in Haiti since 2010

In Saint Louis du Sud, GRET worked between 2010 and 2015 with pregnant women, breastfeeding women and parents of children under the age of 2. Following diagnosis of nutritional practices and the available offer of complementary foods, it was necessary to strengthen existing healthcare structures. Staff in 4 primary healthcare centres, managers of local organisations and community workers were trained. In addition to this, GRET provided support in terms of equipment and renovation of healthcare centres. Awareness-raising actions among families were also conducted with healthcare providers.

In the South Department, GRET contributes to the prevention of malnutrition as part of a project to improve mother and child health and sexual and reproductive health services (Timama). The objective is to strengthen the community network and financial access to healthcare, with the implementation of solidarity funding mechanisms at community level.

In the Gros-Morne district, awareness-raising activities on best nutrition practices and provision of a quality complementary food for children aged between 6 and 24 months, that is affordable for disadvantaged families, were put in place in 2017. Awareness will be raised among 3,200 women of childbearing age in 8 mothers’ clubs over the next 3 years.

Contact person in the country: Laure Biesmans, biesmans[at]gret.org

Nutridev news in the country

In 2016, GRET conducted the Nutridev programme activities in Haiti with support from the following partners:

  • Financial partners: Agence française de développement, European Union, Kellogg Foundation
  • Technical partners: Acted, Association of people who were born in Grand Plaine, EMI, ID, MdM, SOE, Sofa, SOS Enfants sans frontières

Haïti

Haïti : l’éducation et la formation pour lutter contre la malnutrition infantile dans des contextes de crises récurrentes

Depuis 2010, le programme Nutridev est installé dans les zones rurales de la commune de Saint Louis du Sud (Département du Sud) et plus récemment dans la commune de Gros-Morne (Département de l’Artibonite), pour lutter contre la malnutrition infantile en Haïti, dans le cadre de projets plus large de développement local (accès à l’eau potable, santé-nutrition, agriculture) et de sécurité alimentaire et nutritionnelle.

Le contexte : des crises récurrentes qui alimentent le cercle vicieux de la malnutrition

Avant le séisme de 2010, un quart des enfants haïtiens de moins de 2 ans souffrait d’un retard de croissance. En 2012, le département de l’Artibonite présente le plus fort taux de malnutrition chronique avec 23% des enfants touchés. Les causes majeures sont les pratiques alimentaires inadaptées (durée d’allaitement exclusif trop courte, qualité nutritionnelle des aliments de complément insuffisante) et les maladies notamment les maladies diarrhéiques et le choléra.

« Le contexte haïtien de crises récurrentes rend l’éducation et la formation cruciales pour améliorer la résilience des habitant-e-s sur le long terme » explique Laure Biesmans du Gret en Haïti.

Les actions de Nutridev en Haïti depuis 2010

A Saint Louis du Sud, le Gret a travaillé entre 2010 et 2015 auprès des femmes enceintes, des femmes allaitantes et des parents d’enfants de moins de 2 ans. Suite à des diagnostics des pratiques nutritionnelles et de l’offre disponible en aliments de complément, il s’agissait de renforcer les structures de santé existantes. Le personnel de 4 centres de santé primaire, des responsables d’organisations locales et des agents communautaires ont été formés. De plus, le Gret a apporté un appui en équipements et à la réhabilitation des centres de santé. Des actions de sensibilisation des familles ont également été menées avec les prestataires de soins.
Dans le département du Sud, le Gret contribue à la prévention de la malnutrition dans le cadre d’un projet d’amélioration de la santé materno-infantile et des services de santé sexuelle et reproductive (Timama). Il s’agit de renforcer le réseau communautaire et l’accès financier aux soins, avec la mise en place de mécanismes financiers de solidarité au niveau communautaire.
Dans le Gros-Morne, des activités de sensibilisation aux bonnes pratiques de nutrition et la mise à disposition d’un aliment de complément de qualité pour les enfants de 6 à 24 mois, accessible aux familles défavorisées, sont mis en place à partir de 2017. 3 200 femmes en âge de procréer seront sensibilisées à travers 8 clubs de mères dans les 3 prochaines années.

Contact dans le pays

Laure Biesmans, biesmans[at]gret.org

 

Actualités Nutridev dans le pays

En 2016, le Gret met en œuvre les activités du programme Nutridev en Haïti avec l’appui des partenaires suivants :

  • Partenaires financiers : Agence française de développement, Fondation Kellogg, Union européenne
  • Partenaires techniques : Acted, Association des originaires de Grand Plaine, EMI, ID, MdM, SOE, Sofa, SOS Enfants sans frontières