Niger

In Niger: fighting against food and nutritional insecurity, coordinating emergency and  development

GRET has been working to fight malnutrition in Niger since 2009, in a context of recurrent crises that impact living conditions and hinder development.

The context: malnutrition in a context of food crisis

There is a strong prevalence of wasting and stunting in Niger. Despite continuous efforts to tackle malnutrition, the indicators are tending to worsen: 15% of wasting and 46.4% of stunting in 2015. National nutrition and nutritional security policies are planning more sustainable prevention strategies, in particular via the production, distribution and promotion of fortified foods.

Hainikoye Issa Moussa, GRET’s representative in Niger gives us feedback: “GRET’s approach makes it possible to provide low-cost fortified products on the Nigerian market that are produced locally and can be directly used by emergency workers in Niger. GRET is a pioneer in Niger in the coordination of interventions between emergency and development on the issues of malnutrition.”

Nutriniger’s actions since 2009

Since 2009, GRET has been supporting ten fortified food (or infant flour) production units. It is the only NGO in Niger with expertise in training and equipment of fortified food production units. In 2015, 8 tons of infant flours were marketed.

In order to improve malnutrition prevention strategies, local stakeholders are trained (396 healthcare workers and community stakeholders in 2015) and awareness-raising sessions with families are organised with the latter. In 2015, awareness was raised among 36,000 people on feeding and nutrition of young children.

The specificities of Nutridev’s action in Niger

In Niger, GRET acts in collaboration with the private sector to develop a quality fortified foods offer in the country. The private sector involved in nutrition is currently emerging in Niger. It is increasingly taken into account in public nutrition policies, in particular with support from the 3N Initiative. GRET supports the local private sector and promotes purchase by food aid programmes of locally produced complementary foods. In addition, it is working with the state on the definition of quality standards for these products, as well as on control and certification of companies.

More information on GRET’s approach for complementary feeding

In Niger, the Nutridev programme also implemented an action-research project on anaemia in adolescents. Following actions dedicated to awareness-raising and distribution of nutritional supplements, the prevalence of anaemia decreased among pupils in the Mirriah department (61.7 % to 59.9 % for boys and 63 % to 57.9 % for girls).

Contact person in the country: Moussa Hainikoye, niger[at]gret.org  or Giorgia Pianelli pianelli[at]gret.org

Nutridev news in the country

In Niger GRET conducted the Nutridev programme activities in 2016 with support from:

  • Financial partners: Echo, European Union, French ministry of Foreign Affairs, USAID, WFP
  • Technical partners: ACF, ACF-Spain, CCAGC, Concern Worldwide, CRS Niger, Garin Yaara, Misola, SOS Sahel, Local CSOs and public institutions working in nutrition and certification of food (I3N, DNPQM, AVCN).

Niger

Au Niger : lutter contre l’insécurité alimentaire et nutritionnelle, articuler urgence et développement

Le Gret intervient au Niger depuis 2009 contre la malnutrition, dans un contexte de crises récurrentes qui impactent les conditions de vie et freinent le développement.

Le contexte : la malnutrition dans un contexte de crise alimentaire

Le Niger présente de fortes prévalences de malnutrition aiguë et chronique. Malgré les efforts soutenus pour la prise en charge de la malnutrition, on constate plutôt une tendance à l’aggravation des indicateurs : 15% de malnutrition aigue et 46,4% de malnutrition chronique en 2015. Les politiques nationales de nutrition et de sécurité nutritionnelle prévoient des stratégies plus pérennes de prévention, notamment via la production, la diffusion et la promotion d’aliments fortifiés.

Hainikoye Issa Moussa, représentant du Gret au Niger témoigne : « L’approche du Gret permet de rendre disponible sur le marché nigérien des produits fortifiés de qualité, produits localement et à faible coût, qui sont notamment directement utilisable par les urgentistes au Niger. Le Gret est pionnier au Niger dans l’articulation des interventions entre urgence et développement sur les questions de malnutrition ».

Les actions NutriNiger depuis 2009

Depuis 2009, le Gret appuie une dizaine d’unités de production d’aliments fortifiés (ou « farines infantiles »). C’est la seule ONG au Niger qui dispose d’une expertise dans la formation et l’équipement d’unités de productions d’aliments fortifiés. En 2015, 8 tonnes de farines infantiles avaient été commercialisées.
Afin d’améliorer les stratégies de prévention de la malnutrition, les acteurs locaux sont formés (396 agents de santé et acteurs communautaires en 2015) et des séances sensibilisation des familles sont organisées avec eux. En 2015, 36 000 personnes ont été sensibilisées sur l’alimentation et la nutrition du jeune enfant.

Les spécificités de l’action de Nutridev au Niger

Au Niger, le Gret agit en collaboration avec le secteur privé pour le développement d’une offre d’aliments fortifiés de qualité dans le pays. Le secteur privé impliqué dans la nutrition est en train d’émerger au Niger. Il est de plus en plus pris en compte dans les politiques publiques de nutrition, avec notamment le soutien de l’Initiative 3N. Le Gret soutient le secteur privé local et promeut l’achat par les programmes d’aide alimentaire des aliments de complément produits localement. De plus, il travaille avec l’état sur l’élaboration de normes qualités pour ces produits, ainsi que sur le contrôle et la certification des entreprises.
En savoir plus sur l’approche du Gret pour l’alimentation de complément.
Au Niger, le programme Nutridev a également mis en œuvre un projet de recherche-action sur l’anémie chez les adolescent-e-s. Suite à des actions dédiées de sensibilisation et de distribution de suppléments nutritionnels, la prévalence de l’anémie a baissé chez les élèves du département de Mirriah (61,7 % à 59,9 % chez les garçons et de 63 % à 57,9 % chez les filles).

Contacts dans le pays

Moussa Hainikoye, hainikoye.niger[at]gret.org ou Giorgia Pianelli, pianelli[at]gret.org

 

Actualités Nutridev dans le pays

Au Niger le Gret met en œuvre les activités du programme Nutridev en 2016 avec l’appui de :

  • Partenaires financiers : Echo, Ministère français des Affaires étrangères, Pam, Union européenne, USAID
  • Partenaires techniques : ACF, CCAGC, CRS Niger, SOS Sahel, Concern Worldwide, ACF-Espagne, Misola, Garin Yaara, OSC locales et institutions publiques intervenants en nutrition et certification des aliments (I3N, DNPQM, AVCN).