Myanmar

In Myanmar, fighting against malnutrition in urban areas and in the Dry Zone

Between 2012 and 2015, GRET initiated activities to fight against malnutrition in Myanmar. After initial promising actions on provision of a new complementary food and testing of an innovative marketing system, activities were suspended, due to changes in national legislation related to the promotion of complementary foods, prohibiting communication on these major solutions to fight against malnutrition. Since 2016, GRET has been working in the South of Chin State as part of a multi-sectoral approach.

The context: a high level of malnutrition, poor knowledge of complementary foods

In Myanmar, one third of children under the age of 5 suffer from stunting, 11 % from wasting and 41 % are chronically undernourished. Exclusive breastfeeding only concerns 15 % of children and complementary foods are largely unknown.

“We started actions to fight against malnutrition in Myanmar after years of actions in the country on food security”, explains Phyo Min Swe, GRET’s representative in Myanmar. “GRET’s approach aims to be complementary, especially in the Dry Zone, to improve food and nutritional security.”

Nutrimyanmar’s actions since 2012

GRET implemented a nutritional education strategy in urban (Yangon) and rural (Dry Zone) areas, as well as providing a locally produced food suited to young children. In partnership with the Gold Power company, a fortified food called May May Myitta was put on the market. Studies were conducted to implement an innovative local marketing model in Yangon.

See the capitalisation (in french only)

Since 2016, GRET has been conducting activities to raise awareness on best hygiene, feeding and nutrition practices in Chin State. An approach integrated into agricultural activities and Wash (access to drinking water and sanitation) is being developed to strengthen the impact of the project on the nutritional status of populations.

Defending the promotion of complementary foods to fight effectively against malnutrition

Mirrdyn Denizeau, Nutridev programme manager, is raising awareness on the issues of facilitating the provision and promotion of fortified foods, to complement breast milk, in national laws, to fight effectively against malnutrition:

“It is necessary to work on a legal framework that will encourage the local private sector but at the same time restrict and control it to avoid abuses. Regulation on the marketing and promotion of complementary foods is particularly vital to facilitate access to knowledge on these products in satisfactory conditions.”

Contact person in the country: myanmar[at]gret.org

Nutridev news in the country

Since 2012, the Nutridev programme activities in Myanmar have been conducted thanks to support from the following partners:

  • Financial partners: Cartier Charitable Foundation, European Union, Find, WHH
  • Technical partners: ACF, Gold Power, IRD, TGH, Triangle

Myanmar

Au Myanmar, lutter contre la malnutrition en milieu urbain et en zone sèche

Entre 2012 et 2015, le Gret a amorcé des activités de lutte contre la malnutrition au Myanmar. Après de premières actions encourageantes sur la mise à disposition d’un nouvel aliment de complément et le test d’un système de commercialisation innovant, les activités sont suspendues, en raison de l’évolution des législations nationales relatives à la promotion des aliments de complément, interdisant la communication sur ces solutions majeures de lutte contre la malnutrition. Depuis 2016, le Gret intervient dans le sud de l’Etat du Chin dans le cadre d’une approche multisectorielle.

Le contexte : une forte malnutrition, une méconnaissance de l’alimentation de complément

Au Myanmar, un tiers des enfants de moins de 5 ans souffre de malnutrition chronique, 11 % de malnutrition aigüe et 41 % sont sous-alimentés de manière chronique. L’allaitement maternel exclusif ne concerne que 15 % des enfants et les aliments de complément sont très peu connus.

« Nous avons démarré des actions de lutte contre la malnutrition au Myanmar après des années d’actions dans le pays sur la sécurité alimentaire » explique Phyo Min Swe, représentant du Gret au Myanmar. L’approche du Gret s’est voulu complémentaire, notamment dans la Dry zone, pour améliorer la sécurité alimentaire et nutritionnelle ».

Les actions Nutrimyanmar depuis 2012

Le Gret a mis en place en milieu urbain (Yangon) et rural (Dry zone), une stratégie d’éducation nutritionnelle couplée à la mise à disposition d’un aliment adapté aux jeunes enfants et produit localement. En partenariat avec l’entreprise Gold Power, l’aliment fortifié May May Myitta a été mis sur le marché. Des études ont été réalisées pour mettre en place un modèle innovant de commercialisation de proximité à Yangon.
Voir la capitalisation
Depuis 2016, le Gret mène des activités de sensibilisation aux bonnes pratiques d’hygiène, d’alimentation et de nutrition dans l’Etat du Chin. Une approche intégrée aux activités agricoles et Wash (accès à l’eau potable et à l’assainissement) est développée afin de renforcer l’impact du projet sur l’état nutritionnel des populations.

Défendre la promotion des aliments de complément au lait maternel pour lutter efficacement contre la malnutrition

Mirrdyn Denizeau, responsable du programme Nutridev, sensibilise aux enjeux de favoriser la mise à disposition et la promotion des aliments fortifiés, en complément au lait maternel, dans les lois nationales, pour lutter efficacement contre la malnutrition :

« Il faut travailler sur un cadre législatif qui à la fois encourage le secteur privé local mais aussi le restreigne et le contrôle pour éviter les abus. La réglementation sur la commercialisation et la promotion des aliments de complément au lait maternel est particulièrement clé pour permettre de favoriser l’accès à la connaissance de ces produits dans bonnes conditions. »

Contact dans le pays

myanmar[at]gret.org

 

Actualités Nutridev dans le pays

Depuis 2012, les activités de Nutridev au Myanmar ont pu être mises en œuvre grâce au soutien des partenaires suivants :

  • Partenaires financiers : Cartier Charitable Foundation, Find, WHH, Union Européenne
  • Partenaires techniques : ACF, Gold Power, IRD, TGH, Triangle