Madagascar

From the Nutrimad project to the Nutri’zaza social business: over 20 years fighting against malnutrition in Madagascar

Madagascar is one of the first countries where Nutridev started working. The programme has greatly changed over 23 years, from testing the bases of the Nutridev method in the 1990s to the innovations of the 2000s, such as the creation of a network of restaurants for babies (Hotelyn-Jazakely) in the capital and the first social business fighting against malnutrition (Nutri’zaza).

The context: huge regional disparities

On the large island of Madagascar, there are huge regional disparities.

“The Androy region in the South of the island is badly affected by drought and food and nutritional insecurity. In the capital, Antananarivo, 47% of children under the age of 5 suffer from stunting, compared to 40% of children on average in urban zones in Madagascar.” explains Christiane Rakotomalala, nutrition programme manager with GRET in Madagascar. This is why we work both in urban and rural areas in 7 of Madagascar’s 22 regions, with intervention strategies that are appropriate to the various local contexts.”

Nutridev’s actions since 1994

In urban areas, Koba Aina is distributed via an original network: Hotelin-jazakely (restaurants for babies). Parents can come to buy the porridge already prepared or can let their children eat it in the restaurant: an opportunity to monitor the baby’s growth and advise mothers. The restaurant staff also tour the surrounding neighbourhoods to sell the porridge door-to-door. In 2013, Malagasy social business Nutri’zaza was created to make the activities sustainable, extend the Hotelin-jazakely network and distribution of the product to the traditional network (retailers). In 2017, over 150,000 children aged between 6 and 24 months are concerned by Nutri’zaza’s actions and 28 million meals were sold between 2013 and 2016.

In rural areas, GRET implements the activities of the National community-based nutrition programme defined by the Malagasy government. Liaison officers elected by the community spread nutritional messages and monitor the growth of children. 401 nutrition centres were built in 5 regions. The awareness of mothers and future mothers is raised on best feeding, hygiene and childcare practices during home visits or visits in healthcare centres. GRET also develops a multi-sectoral approach in rural areas facilitating links between agriculture, health and nutrition and the implementation of nutritional safety nets in response to recurrent crises in the Southern region of Madagascar.

The specificities of Nutridev’s actions in Madagascar

  • Strong involvement in public policies: GRET supported the government to draw up the 3rd section of the 2017-2021 National Nutrition Action Plan. It is also supporting the government to create a framework for multi-stakeholders consultation on nutrition issues and a national legal framework to facilitate nutritional fortification via the consumption of complementary foods.
  • Koba Aina: GRET, IRD and the University of Antananarivo, together with Malagasy company Taf, defined a food fortified with 25 minerals and vitamins based on good quality local products: Koba Aina (“flour of life” in Malagasy). This food for children aged between 6 and 24 months must be cooked as porridge to facilitate its consumption in optimum sanitary conditions. 120 tons of the product are manufactured by the Taf plants every year and are marketed at affordable prices by the Nutri’zaza social business. Koba Aina is not the only complementary food developed by Nutridev in Madagascar. Other products have also been developed for primary school-age children for example, as well as a product to deal with moderate acute malnutrition. More information on complementary foods in Madagascar

Contact people in the country: Christiane Rakotomalala (GRET) rakotomalala[at]gret.org and Mieja Rakotonarivo (Nutri’zaza) directiongenerale.nutrizaza[at]moov.mg

Nutridev news in the country

In Madagascar, GRET conducted the Nutridev programme activities in 2016 with the following partners:

  • Financial partners: ACF, Agence française de développement, European Union, Government of the Principality of Monaco, IPM-MAE, Handicap International, MdM, Malagasy ministry of Health, MFPF, Nutri’zaza, WFP, Santé Sud.
  • Technical partners: ACF, Malagasy ministry of Health, Malagasy ministry of Trade, Nutri’zaza, National Nutrition Office, Taf, University of Antananarivo (Labasan)

Madagascar

Du projet Nutrimad à l’entreprise Nutri’zaza : plus de 20 ans de lutte contre la malnutrition à Madagascar

Madagascar est l’un des premiers pays où Nutridev est intervenu. Le programme s’est transformé en 23 ans, de l’expérimentation des prémices de la méthode Nutridev dans les années 1990 aux innovations des années 2000 comme la création d’un réseau de restaurants pour bébés (Hotelyn-Jazakely) dans la capitale et la première entreprise sociale de lutte contre la malnutrition (Nutri’zaza).

Le contexte : des disparités régionales très fortes

« Le Sud de l’Ile, l’Androy, est particulièrement touché par la sécheresse et l’insécurité alimentaire et nutritionnelle. A la capitale, Antananarivo, 47% des enfants de moins de 5 ans souffrent de malnutrition chronique. » explique Christiane Rakotomalala, responsable du programme nutrition du Gret à Madagascar. C’est pourquoi nous intervenons tant en milieu urbain que rural dans 7 des 22 régions de Madagascar, avec des stratégies d’intervention adaptées aux différents contextes. »

Les actions de Nutridev depuis 1994

En milieu urbain, la Koba Aina est diffusée à travers un réseau original : les Hotelin-jazakely (restaurants pour bébés). Les parents peuvent venir acheter la bouillie déjà toute préparée ou la faire consommer à l’enfant sur place : l’occasion de réaliser le suivi de croissance du bébé et conseiller les mamans. Les animatrices font également des tournées dans les quartiers pour vendre la bouillie en porte à porte. En 2013, l’entreprise sociale malgache Nutri’zaza a été créée pour pérenniser les activités et étendre le réseau des Hotelin-jazakely et la distribution du produit au réseau traditionnel (détaillants). En 2017, plus de 150 000 enfants de 6 à 24 mois sont concernés par les actions de Nutri’zaza et 28 millions de repas ont été vendus entre 2013 et 2016.

En milieu rural, le Gret met en œuvre des activités du Programme national de nutrition communautaire défini par le gouvernement malgache. Des relais élus par la communauté diffusent des messages nutritionnels et réalisent un suivi de la croissance des enfants. 401 bases de nutrition ont été construites dans 5 régions. Les mamans et futures mamans sont sensibilisées aux bonnes pratiques d’alimentation, d’hygiène et de soins lors de visites à domicile ou dans les centres de santé. Le Gret y développe aussi une approche multisectorielle favorisant les liens agriculture-santé-nutrition et la mise en place de filets nutritionnels en réponse aux crises récurrentes du Grand Sud malgache.

Les spécificités des actions Nutridev à Madagascar

  • Une implication forte dans les politiques publiques : le Gret a accompagné le gouvernement dans l’élaboration du 3e volet du Plan national d’action pour la nutrition 2017-2021. Il l’appuie également dans la création d’un cadre de concertation multi-acteurs sur les questions de nutrition et d’un cadre législatif national pour favoriser la fortification nutritionnelle via la consommation d’aliments de complément.
  • La Koba Aina : Le Gret, l’IRD et l’Université d’Antananarivo définissent en 2002 avec l’entreprise malgache Taf, un aliment fortifié en 25 minéraux et vitamines à base de produits locaux et de bonne qualité nutritionnelle : la Koba Aina (« farine de la vie » en malgache). Cet aliment pour les enfants de 6 à 24 mois doit être cuisiner en bouillie pour favoriser sa consommation dans les meilleures conditions sanitaires. 120 tonnes de produit sortent des usines de Taf, chaque année et sont commercialisés à coût accessible par l’entreprise sociale Nutri’zaza. La Koba Aina n’est pas le seul aliment de complément développé par Nutridev à Madagascar. D’autres produits ont également été développés pour les enfants d’âge scolaire par exemple, ainsi qu’un produit de prise en charge de la malnutrition aiguë modérée. En savoir plus sur l’alimentation de complément à Madagascar.

Découvrir Nutrizaza en vidéo

Contacts dans le pays

Christiane Rakotomalala (Gret), rakotomalala[at]gret.org

Mieja Rakotonarivo (Nutri’zaza), directiongenerale.nutrizaza[at]moov.mg

 

Actualités Nutridev dans le pays

«
»
«
»

A Madagascar, le Gret met en œuvre les activités du programme Nutridev en 2016 avec les partenaires suivants :

  • Partenaires financiers : ACF, Agence française de développement, Gouvernement de la Principauté de Monaco, IPM-MAE, Handicap international, MdM, Ministère malgache de la Santé, MFPF, Nutri’zaza, Pam, Santé Sud, Union européenne.
  • Partenaires techniques : ACF, Ministère malgache de la Santé, Ministère malgache du Commerce, Nutri’zaza, Office National de Nutrition, Taf, Université d’Antananarivo (Labasan)