Vietnam

16 years of fighting against malnutrition in Vietnam: from experimentation to policy anchors

The Nutridev programme was implemented in Vietnam for 16 years, between 1994 and 2010, prior to being taken over by the local and national authorities. This is one of the first countries where Nutridev worked, where numerous innovations were tested and rolled out. The lessons learned have been the subject of publications and contributed to improving the Nutridev method internationally.

The context: growing inequalities, a lack of national data

“Since the 1990s, strong economic growth in Vietnam has been accompanied by rapid growth in  inequalities”, explains Ninh Nguyen Huu, GRET’s representative in Vietnam and former manager of activities fighting against malnutrition. When GRET started activities in 1994, the data available indicated that 42% of children under the age of 5 were experiencing  stunting (1980 national study), and that 60% of children under the age of 1 suffered from anaemia (1995 national study).”

The cause: the lack of complementary foods at affordable prices and poor information of populations on best nutrition practices.

Given the lack of data available in the country, the first years of intervention (1994-1996) were devoted to diagnosis, in order to implement the most appropriate intervention strategy. These years also made it possible to identify local partners that would work on projects, to make activities sustainable over the long term.

Nutridev actions in Vietnam, from 1994 to 2010

Two projects were implemented to prevent child malnutrition: Fasévie (1994-2008), dedicated mainly to young children and pregnant and breastfeeding women, and Nutrisco (2007-2010), dedicated to school children.

GRET and IRD worked in the provinces of Ha Ting, Da Nang and Quang Nam, and then in Hanoi. The first fortified foods were produced at the end of the 1990s: Favina, an instant flour, Nufavie, a ready-to-cook flour, and Favilase, a food complement. Two production plants were set up to manufacture these. A food complement for women was also created.

In the 2000s, actions were launched to promote fortified foods and provide nutrition education with the Women’s union, among 130,000 mothers and 200,000 children. The activities were extended and new products were developed such as fortified biscuits for school children.

Nutridev accompanied its withdrawal to enable local stakeholders to operate independently. In 2008, after 14 years of action-research, a sustainable strategy was taken over by the local authorities and partners, focusing on 3 pillars:

  • the production of fortified complementary foods,
  • the promotion of these foods,
  • nutrition education via the Women’s union network.

Read the history of the programme in Vietnam 

 The specificities of Nutridev’s action in Vietnam

Nutridev’s action in Vietnam has two strong specificities:

  • The Vietnamese national Institute of nutrition incorporated the Nutridev strategy into the national policy and implemented it in six provinces with support from GRET until 2010 (Tabs project). 8 million inhabitants in 1,200 communes were concerned and 12,000 community workers were trained!
  • Although Nutridev gives priority focus to the crucial period when children are aged between 6 and 24 months, in Vietnam it also developed a specific strategy for school children. GRET and IRD created the “Bisavit A” biscuits and “HFB” (High Fortified Biscuit), fortified with micronutrients, and implemented nutrition education actions with teachers. Between 2008 and 2010, a system involving local education services to distribute biscuits in a controlled manner in school settings was tested, while planning a solidarity mechanism to sell the HFB biscuits. Read a scientific article on this subject

Contact: vietnam[at]gret.org

Nutridev news in the country

Between 1994 and 2010, the following partners supported GRET and IRD to implement the Nutridev  programme in Vietnam:

  • Financial partners: Côtes d’Armor General Council; European Union; French ministry of Foreign Affairs; Hoffmann La Roche; Japanese fund for poverty reduction via the Asian Development Bank (ADB) Nord-Pas de Calais regional council; Sight and Life Foundation; UNICEF France.
  • Technical partners: NIN (National Institute of Nutrition), Vietnam Women’s Union. The following also participated in activities: the people’s committees, preventive healthcare services, public and private companies, and primary schools in the localities concerned by the activities.

Vietnam

16 ans de lutte contre la malnutrition au Vietnam : de l’expérimentation à l’ancrage politique

Le programme Nutridev a été mis en œuvre pendant 16 ans au Vietnam, entre 1994 et 2010, avant d’être repris par les autorités locales et nationales. C’est l’un des premiers pays d’intervention de Nutridev, où de nombreuses innovations ont été testées et déployées. Les enseignements ont fait l’objet de publications et ont contribué à améliorer la méthode Nutridev au niveau international.

Le contexte : des inégalités croissantes, un manque de données nationales

« Depuis les années 1990, la forte croissance économique du Vietnam s’est accompagnée d’un accroissement rapide des inégalités, explique Ninh Nguyen Huu, représentant du Gret au Vietnam et ancien responsable des activités de lutte contre la malnutrition. Lorsque le Gret a démarré les activités en 1994, les données disponibles indiquaient que 42% des enfants de moins de 5 ans présentaient un retard de croissance (enquête nationale 1980), et que 60% des enfants de moins de 1 an souffraient d’anémie (enquête nationale 1995) ».

En cause : le manque d’aliments de complément au lait maternel à prix accessible et la faible information des populations sur les bonnes pratiques de nutrition.
Les premières années d’intervention (1994-1996) ont été dédiées aux diagnostics face au peu de données disponibles dans le pays, pour mettre en place la stratégie d’intervention la plus adaptée. Ces années ont aussi permis d’identifier les partenaires locaux qui allaient travailler sur les projets, pour ancrer les activités sur le long terme.

Les actions de Nutridev au Vietnam, de 1994 à 2010

Deux projets ont été mis en place pour prévenir la malnutrition infantile : Fasévie (1994-2008) dédié principalement aux jeunes enfants et aux femmes enceintes et allaitantes, et Nutrisco (2007-2010) dédié aux enfants scolarisés.
Le Gret et l’IRD ont travaillé dans les provinces de Ha Ting, Da Nang et Quang Nam, puis sur Hanoï. Les premiers aliments fortifiés sont nés à la fin des années 1990 : Favina, une farine instantanée, Nufavie, une farine à cuire et Favilase un complément alimentaire. Deux usines de production ont été mises en place pour les fabriquer. Un complément alimentaire pour les femmes a également été créé.
Dans les années 2000 ont démarré les actions de promotion des aliments fortifiés et d’éducation nutritionnelle avec l’Union des femmes, auprès de 130 000 mères et 200 000 enfants. Les activités se sont étendues et de nouveaux produits ont été développés comme des biscuits fortifiés pour les enfants scolarisés.
Nutridev a accompagné son retrait pour permettre aux acteurs locaux de fonctionner en autonomie. En 2008, après 14 ans de recherche-action, une stratégie pérenne a été reprise par les autorités et partenaires locaux, autour de 3 piliers:

  • la production d’aliments de complément fortifiés,
  • la promotion de ces aliments,
  • l’éducation nutritionnelle par le réseau de l’Union des femmes.

Lire l’histoire du programme au Vietnam

Les spécificités de l’action de Nutridev au Vietnam

Les actions de Nutridev au Vietnam présentent deux spécificités fortes :

  • L’Institut national de la nutrition vietnamien a repris la stratégie Nutridev dans la politique nationale et l’a mise en œuvre dans six provinces avec l’appui du Gret jusqu’en 2010 (projet Tabs). 8 millions d’habitants de 1 200 communes ont été concernés et 12 000 agents communautaires ont été formés !
  • Si Nutridev se concentre de manière prioritaire sur la période clé des 6 à 24 mois de l’enfant, il a également développé au Vietnam une stratégie spécifique pour les enfants scolarisés. Le Gret et l’IRD ont créé les biscuits « Bisavit A » et « HFB » (High Fortified Biscuit) fortifiés en micronutriments, et mis en place des actions d’éducation nutritionnelle avec les professeurs. Entre 2008 et 2010, un dispositif impliquant les services d’éducation locaux pour distribuer de façon contrôlé le biscuit en milieu scolaire a été testé tout en prévoyant un mécanisme de solidarité pour la vente du biscuit HFB. Lire un article scientifique sur ce sujet [en anglais]

Contact dans le pays

vietnam[at]gret.org

Actualités Nutridev dans le pays

Entre 1994 et 2010, les partenaires suivants ont accompagné le Gret et l’IRD dans la mise en œuvre du programme Nutridev au Vietnam :

  • Partenaires financiers : Conseil régional du Nord-Pas de Calais ; Conseil Général des Côtes d’Armor ; Fondation Sight and Life ; Fonds Japonais de réduction de la pauvreté via la Banque Asiatique du Développement (ADB) ; Hoffmann La Roche ; Ministère français des Affaires étrangères ; Unicef France ; Union Européenne ;
  • Partenaires techniques : Institut National de Nutrition (INN), Union des femmes du Vietnam. Par ailleurs, ont participé aux activités les comités populaires, services de santé préventive, entreprises privées et publiques, et écoles primaires des localités concernées par les activités.